Category Archives: W17-P1 About Me

Get To Know ME!!!



People often ask me where I was born and for the life of me I can’t remember. That was a really long time ago. Supposedly in California, near the mall where tested the DeLorean in the first Back to the future. What I hear is I was 11 pounds and 24 inches tall. That by all accounts is a BIG baby.I could be wrong on the exact numbers, though I shouldn’t because I hear about it every time I call my mother on my birthday. Moved to Oregon when I was four, been in Eugene ever since, which can bum me out if I think about it for too long. Let’s move on…

The First Concert I went to with any longing impact on me was Weird Al Yankovic. First Movie was Who Framed Rodger Rabbit? When I was 8 or 9 ish I got obsessed with old reruns of classic tv shows like Gilligan’s Island, Bewitched, Brady Bunch, etc. Around 15 or 16, I got obsessed with rock’n’roll like Iggy Pop, New York Dolls, Richard Hell, etc. At 33, I don’t know what I’m obsessed with. I still love classic tv and rock’n’roll. I have a radio show on the university’s radio station, THE NO PANTS PARTY, currently on Thursdays 3pm-4pm, KWVA, 88.1 FM(shameless plug). I also do vocals in a punk rock band, we’re called Prefontaine though the bass player wants to change the name to something more accessible (typical bass player!) Anyway yeah…. Oh one time I met a retired Adult film star and Jesus Christ on THE SAME NIGHT! I’ll tell ya that story some other time

15895008_10208056011697546_5317991500843719552_nBy Billy Dyball

Hi, I’m Josh

I used to want to major in either accounting or finance.

I thought my brain was purely analytical, and contained no ounce of creativity.

I liked computers, and I hated arts and crafts in primary school.

I learned I wanted to work for myself, so I switched from finance to marketing in order to learn skills to start a business for myself in the future.

I love new ideas, and I have a passion for turning my ideas, and others’ ideas, into reality.

I have a dog, and this dog grew markings on his face that made him famous.

I thought that we should share the uniqueness of this dog with the world, so I decided to create some sort of website and social media for him, even though I had no idea what I was doing.

I ended up staying up all night working on the site and loved it, and he grew to over 55,000 fanatics who’re obsessed with him.

I started exploring this new creative side of myself and combined it with my technical skills with computers.

I’m starting to make websites for other people and helping their creative ideas come to life.

I think I can combine my new interest for media arts with my marketing interest, and I’m looking forward to learn and explore ways to creatively do this in this class.

I was recently introduced to video editing and film, and grew a passion for expressing my ideas through this medium as well.

I’m very new to all this, and I had no idea there was an actual class that teaches how to do the type of work I accidentally came across, loved, and taught myself.

I played around with iMovie the another night and made this little video about Eugene that I’ll substitute for my picture requirement.

Who knows what it’ll be?


Hello All,

My name is Nieman Adams-Jackson, I am 21 years old. I was born in Central Oregon, out in the middle nowhere (Small town hospital). I spent most of my adolescence in Central Oregon. Although, I spent a good amount of time in Portland dur

Left to Right: Ziggy, Me, Sky

ing my childhood.  I moved to Eugene in February of 2014 to begin school here at Lane Community College. I hope to transfer into University of Oregon. My goal while at UO is to obtain a four year degree in advertising or something else that sparks my interest. I am not completely decided on what I would like to major in quite yet. I enjoy Nature and being outside. In my free time, I like to go hiking, camping, and swimming. I enjoy being inside though just as much as I do being outside.  At home, I have two toy Australian Shepherds named Ziggy and Sky. I really enjoy taking them with me everywhere.  They will turn two on on the 22nd of next month. If you see me outside of school, there is a good chance that you would spot these two right behind me. After completing the Media Arts program I would like to be headed down a road that keeps me intrigued. Who knows what it’ll be?

By: Nieman Adams-Jackson

My Brief Introduction


Hello everyone,

My name is Hunter. I’ve lived in Oregon for all my life, mostly in Eugene. I’m the current Multimedia Editor/Movie Reviewer at The Torch and work for the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art. I was also on the Yearbook staff back in my Junior year of high school.

I had a huge obsession with sharks when I was in elementary school. Because of that, I originally wanted to be a scuba diver, so that I could swim with sharks. Then, when I was about 6 or 7, my mom brought home a VHS tape (yes, I remember those) of Jaws. Ever since my first viewing of that film, not only did it become my favorite film, it also inspired me to pursue becoming a film director. Other favorite films of mine are Halloween (1978), Blade Runner (The Final Cut), and Good Will Hunting.

In the last 4-5 years, I’ve developed an interest in screenwriting and video editing. I recently changed my major to Multimedia to work closer in a field I have an interest in and to learn other useful skills.

When I’m finished with the Media Arts program, I hope to find work in the video/film production field. Since the industry is evolving in exciting ways, now’s the time to jump on the train

By Hunter Ruland

Who Am I?


Angus and I on the beach in Florence

Greetings and salutations, I am Fiona and I’m 33 years old. I am originally from Scotland but moved to Oregon in 2010 after marrying a native. I already have a bachelors in Biological Sciences from the University of Edinburgh and for the past 6 years have been working for a small biotech company here in Eugene as both the head of biology and general computer related body. I rebuilt the company website last year and do all the design, advertising and social media aspects.

I have recently however burnt out on the science side and have gone part time to pursue my interest in media arts and web design as this is the aspect of my job I enjoy the most. Ideally I would like to either move entirely into multimedia at my current job or work as a web designer.

Outside of work and school I split my time between craft and animal based pursuits. I have two dogs: one who is old, grumpy, and my canine partner in crime who is a 2 year old border collie/husky named Angus. Angus and I are a certified therapy dog team and we are currently doing visits on the UO campus and part of the program through the Eugene library where kids can read to dogs. Angus and I also do agility and are working on trick dog titles, hopefully this year we will add flyball to our repertoire.

In addition to dog sports I also ride horses, I started riding when I was 10 but took a break of probably 15 years, getting back in the saddle on my 29th birthday. I ride English and for the past few months I have been competing in dressage competitions online via video entries, with varying degrees of success.

On the craft side I knit, quilt and do other sewing including making bandanas for dogs that I sell via Etsy. I also like to bake but have to keep that to a minimum for waistline reasons.

By: Fiona Harlan